Blessings in Small Places

While in India researching my Blessings in India fiction trilogy, I was asked to teach a writing class.  Sekaran, a small dark man, crept in and sat in the back corner. “He is extremely poor,” the leader whispered. “He comes from the lowest part of the caste we used to call untouchables.”

My first assignment was that everyone write a detailed outline of their proposed work. Sekaran turned in a sheet of paper with nothing but these words:        

God’s love brooms all the rooms of our house which is full of dirt, ugliness, grubby bugs and muddy brutes.  It cleans up the filth of idol festivals and makes us holy.

I told Sekaran his writing was lovely, but we were talking about writing articles and books. He bowed and stared at the floor. Obviously, he had misunderstood, poor fellow. But the next day, when everyone else turned in the assigned synopsis, Sekaran handed me another single page:

God’s love is the light of the world that fights darkness. Victory is always His.  Let us shine.

“Sekaran,” I gently explained, “you need to write more than this.”

“I can only write short, Miss,” Sekaran murmured. “I have no computer. At the internet café, I must pay for every word and I only have a few coins left.”

What others in that class wrote, I can no longer remember.  But I often recall Sekaran’s “short writing,” and I am blessed all over again.

God’s love follows all the days of our life.  It neither leaves us nor forsakes us.  Let us remain in God’s love.

“May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing in your sight,

O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.”

Psalm 19:14

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Blessings in Small Places

  1. Jeanette

    This story touched me so deeply. Seriously, it made my day. Thank you!
    In fact, I know of a friend who would enjoy it too. I will definitely share this post with her :).
    Love you!
    Jeanette

  2. Thanks, Jeanette. Your comments made my day!

Leave a Reply

