How Soon They Forget!

Did you catch Paul McCartney’s double performance at the 2012 Grammy Awards?  After he finished,  Twitter exploded.  No, not with messages from praise-gushing fans.  Confused twitterers tapped out:  Who is this guy? and  He sure is old to be starting out!  and Must not be much. Never heard of him. 

I really didn’t need another thing to make me feel old.  Just last week I reviewed a manuscript from a fellow much younger than I.  He said that when he was in high school he wanted to go on a mission trip to Russia but his parents said absolutely not.  “You can go on a trip,” they told him, “but not to a communist country.  It’s too dangerous.”  So he showed them another possibility—a trip to the Middle East.  “Okay,” they said. “That’s a good, safe place.”

How times change!  And how times change us.

Welcome to 2012~

“People change and forget to tell each other.”

Lillian Hellman

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “How Soon They Forget!

  1. I was going over some worship music with another person and mentioned adding “Be Thou My Vision” to the set. She wanted to know which group did it. I told her it was public domain. “Public Domain? Is that a new band?”
    yeah…I felt as old as the treasured hymn I was referring to.

  2. Jeanette

    I started feeling old when my favorite teen stars from the ’80s started playing the parents instead of the teenagers. Suddenly it dawned on me, oh yeah, I’m the mom now too.
    When did that happen?

  3. Yep. BTW, didn’t you love the older star strong presence at the Academy Awards?

    • Jeanette

      We gave up cable awhile back to save money, so I missed the Academy Awards. (Sigh.) I heard it was great though.

      This must be “Face it, you’re getting old” day because I just found an invitation to join AARP in my inbox. I’m not even 45 yet and I’m already getting that stuff. That’s just . . . mean.

  4. Ian Bennett

    The people who are starting college this year were born in 1993. The Cold War, Vietnam and the Gulf War are as ancient history to them as WWII. AIDS and Ebola have always existed. Bottle caps have always been screw off. Star Wars looks fake, there have always been red and blue M&Ms and they have never seen an 8-track. Their world has always known CDs, cell phones and laptops. The expression “you sound like a broken record” means nothing to them. Popcorn has always been cooked in a microwave, and there have always been remote controls. Nelson Mandela was never in jail, food products have always been genetically engineered and there has always been a nicotine patch. The Hubble Telescope, the ozone hole, GPS and the Mall of America have always been part of their world. The year they started school, the earth’s population surpassed six billion people. And if all that isn’t bad enough, my three year old grandson just showed me how to download the latest app to my iPhone.

  5. Aww, Ian. That’s not what I needed to hear! Think I’ll to soak my feet, take a dose of Geritol, and drag my old self off to bed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

