My Least Favorite Christmas Song

Songs of the season.  We hear them everywhere.  Carols, winter snow songs, traditional numbers… oh, and Santa Claus songs.  I love Christmas, so it’s never too much for me.  I don’t even complain about that little drummer boy par-rum-pum-pum-pumming on his infernal drum.

But one Christmas song drives me crazy:  Here Comes Santa Claus. 

You know the one… Elvis sang it.  He wasn’t the first, of course. Gene Autry wrote the song shortly after the end of World War II and promptly made it popular.  Bob Dylan sang it, and so did Willie Nelson.  Dwight Yoakam, too.  And Doris Day and Mariah Carey and Alvin and the Chipmunks.  I like some of those artists better than other, but I do not like  the song.

Here comes Santa Claus, Here comes Santa Claus,
Right down Santa Claus Lane.
Vixen and Blitzen and all his reindeer
Pullin’ on the reins.
Bells are ringin’, children singin’,
All is merry and bright.
So hang your stockings and say your prayers,
‘Cause Santa Claus comes tonight.

Okay, that first verse is all right.  What I don’t like is the fuzzy mixing of Santa and God that comes in later verses:

Here comes Santa Claus, Here comes Santa Claus,

Right down Santa Claus Lane.

He doesn’t care if you’re rich or poor,

He loves you just the same.

Santa Claus knows that we’re all God’s children

And that makes everything right.

So fill your hearts with Christmas cheer

‘Cause Santa Claus comes tonight.

Eh?  Say what?

Peace on earth will come to all,
If we just follow the light…

What light is that?

So let’s give thanks to the Lord above
‘Cause Santa Claus comes tonight.

Hmm.  Not surprising that more than one child has folded little hands and prayed, “Dear Santa…”  Or that two weeks ago, a university student from China asked me if in America Santa Claus is God.

As for me, I will save my thanks for real things. Important things.  Things such as Jesus’ birth.

 

“Silent night, holy night!  All is calm, all is bright.  ‘Round yon virgin mother and child, Holy infant so tender and mild.  Sleep in heavenly peace.  Sleep in heavenly peace.”

Joseph Mohr

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Least Favorite Christmas Song

  1. Jeanette

    I always thought those lyrics were weird too! I’m so glad I’m not alone.
    The “Let’s turn Santa into God” song that I repeated rant about is Santa Clause is Coming to Town, particularly the lines . . .
    He sees you when you’re sleeping
    He knows when you’re awake
    He knows if you’ve been bad or good . . .

    Aahhhh!!!! Childhood visions of Santa peering through my bedroom window to check on whether or not I was being a good girl still haunt me.

  2. Oh, yes, definately that one too!

Leave a Reply

