Singing the New Computer Blues

I’m sorry to have been without words for so long.  Thing is, I am trying to break in a new computer and it’s no small task.  Besides needing to relearn the keyboard (why put all the control stuff in a place that reconfigures the letter placement?!), I have to reenter all my favorites sites.  Which means I have to remember all my user names and passwords.  Hey, I struggle to recall my phone number!

I figure I have 26 name/password combinations circulating in cyberspace.  Every one of them made sense when I programmed them in, but today I cannot remember them to save my life.

Remember when we used to get user manuals with our computers so we could actually look up how to do things?  I would always jot my password on the inside back cover  of that manual where I was certain no thief would ever be clever enough to look.  Ah, the good old days!

In a rash of organization, I once made myself a list of all my passwords and hid it in the freezer.  Problem was, I always forgot the password, and it was easier to click “Forgot Password?”  and change it than to go to the freezer and dig my list out from behind the black walnut ice cream that no one ever ate.  So now that list is no good at all, and anyway, it is frozen to the back of the freezer.

Well, I am glad to be back with you.  Even though my new computer still isn’t working right.  Even though I can’t remember the password to my blog.

Sigh~!

 “To err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer.”

Bill Vaughan, 1969

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Singing the New Computer Blues

  1. Jean Stewart

    Oh do I relate–doing the same and losing my mind, what’s left of it…luv, jean

  2. Frustrating, isn’t it? Grrr…

  3. Jeanette

    The last time I got a new computer, it took me forever to figure out how to set it to the contrast that my eyes prefer (black background with white text instead of vice versa). I ended up activating a function for the blind and suddenly my computer was talking to me. Then I couldn’t get it to shut up. Thank goodness for Christian the resident computer geek or I might have ended up in the psych ward.

    Love the idea of keeping passwords in the freezer. It reminds me of my grandmother who owned several rentals. If tenants paid her in cash, she stored it in the dishwasher until banking day. After all, she never used the dishwasher and “thieves won’t think to look there.”

  4. One thing I’ve learned: You cannot reason with a computer! But kids can. So having a resident “geek” is a God-send.

Leave a Reply

