Writing With Camera in Hand

 You know what really helps both my writing and my blogging?

Good pictures.

I have traveled much of the world, and have had the opportunity to see many wondrous sights.  But, as much as I hate to admit it, I have few pictures of my first several trips.  That’s because I busied myself taking notes and working the tape recorder, and I depended on others to snap choice shots for me.

Bad idea #1.

About my third year, I finally got myself a good camera and learned to use it.  Also, I took my husband along with his camera.  Between the two, I began to accumulate some really decent shots.  When I came home, I downloaded them and dumped them in a pile on my external drive.

Bad idea #2.

So many shots I knew were tucked away somewhere but I had no idea where to locate them.  Other times I totally forgot I had the shot at all.

Finally–too many years, countless pictures, and untold wasted hours later–I got organized.  I have now catalogued my pictures and at long last am building myself a decent photo library.

Why, oh why, did I wait so long?

“The soul never thinks without a picture.”

Aristotle 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

