Refections on the Fourth

I was awakened at 5:30 a.m. by the faint boom… pop… bang… of fireworks.  Yep, at 5:30!  Got me to remembering: 

  • The year my husband and I nestled together on the White House lawn and watched the most spectacular fireworks of all time.
  •  The time we went to Hawaii on my husband’s birthday and I cooked a special dinner in our condo and served it on the lanai. Unbeknown to me it was a special Hawaiian day, and just as we started to eat, a beautiful fireworks display lit up the sky.  My husband said with awe, “You planned this for me?”
  •  The olden days (as my kids used to say) when home fireworks were commonplace.  My dad used to bring home a bunch of sparklers and those worms that expand when you light them and pinwheels and small rockets, and he’d shoot them off in the street right there in South San Francisco.

At 6:00 a.m., I thanked God for the USA, and prayed for its future.  At 7:00 I kissed my husband and told him how much I love him.  At 8:00 I called my dad and said “Thanks, Pop, for so many great memories!”

“Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent a new nation, conceived in liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.”

Abraham Lincoln, The Gettysburg Address, 1863

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Refections on the Fourth

  1. What awesome memories! And more happy ones to come, I’ll bet.
    Hugs to you both on this fabulous day,
    B.J.

  2. Thanks! And a blessed 4th to you, B.J.!

Leave a Reply

