Life Interruptions

Wait, wait!  Don’t give up on me!

Contrary to popular suspicion, I have not:

  • abandoned my blogsite
  • moved away and left no forwarding email address
  • been kidnapped
  • forgotten my blog password (Well, okay, I did do that.  But I figured it out again.)

What did happen over this past month-plus was a perfect storm of life interruptions.  Not bad, mind you, but interruptions nevertheless. 

The week before Easter, I enjoyed being a part of the wonderful faculty at the mega-wonderful Mount Hermon Christian Writers’ Conference. After one full day at home, Dan and I were off on an 18-day cruise from Fort Lauderdale, Florida, through the Panama Canal, up to Seattle. (I was engaged on the ship as entertainment and, with Dan’s excellent help, made six presentations in the 1,000-seat theater. Great fun, even though that theater was never near full!)  Throughout the cruise, Dan and I shared a table each day with two German couples and a couple  from Switzerland.  Some spoke some English–one quite well.  Still, Dan and I spent some of our at-sea time studying German, which we practiced each evening during dinner.  (“Was ist das?”)

I must say, though, that it is nice to be home, despite a severe case of bronchitis.  While we were gone, the entire city errupted into a gorgeous rainbow of blossoms, and the lettuce in our garden grew up thick and lovely, just begging to be made into salads.  Now we’re counting the days until the weather is as consistently beautiful and warm as yesterday.

I’m eager to settle down and get back to work–which is good, since I have another book due on the editor’s desk in 3-1/2 months.

And I’ve missed you.  Thank you for being patient with me.  Thanks for coming back after I deserted you for weeks.  Thanks for caring enough to ask where I’ve been.

Erfreut, wieder zu Hause!

Happy to be home!

“There’s no place like home.”

Dorothy

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Life Interruptions

  1. Jean Stewart

    Welcome home, Jetsetter! So glad you had such a fun hiatus.
    While you were away my mother passed away, we took her for burial in Atlanta next to my father who died in 1959–I see them dancing in heaven together–and now am crawling through her place trying to figure out what to do with everything… it’s been a traumatic time and will continue to be for awhile I fear, but the love and caring of friends are holding me up and close to Him. Love to you and Dan.

  2. Oh, Jean, I am so sorry. Do you have to go through the things alone? Have you no other family to help you?

  3. Yes, there is no place like home. Welcome back! Hugs to you both,
    B.J.

  4. Jeanette

    Welcome home, Kay! How sweet of God to have blossoms and lettuce waiting for you.
    Have a blessed day, precious friend.
    Love, Jeanette

  5. Jeanette

    P.S. I love your new picture. It gorgeous! (I hit Post Comment too quickly)

Leave a Reply

