Not The Boss of Me

Through the years, I’ve had some great bosses.  I’ve also had a few I’d like to forget.  But of them all, my present boss is the hardest slave-driver, the most unforgiving of all.  She keeps me working long into the night and awakens me before dawn to drive me back to my desk.  I whine at times, but I get precious little sympathy. I wish I could point a finger of blame at her.  But, alas, I cannot, for my present boss is… ME! 

Yep, I’m a full-time, self-employed writer.  And I must admit that overall I rather like it.  Especially since I learned the vital secret of successful self-employment—Routine.

I know, I know.  Much is said about the muse of inspiration that supposedly flies down and settles on the shoulder of a true writer.  But I’m here to tell you that sticking to a regular writing routine is worth more than all the muses that could ever possibly flutter your way.

Routines vary, but let me give you a glimpse of mine: 

  • First thing in the morning, check email and answer urgent messages. 
  • Read the morning newspaper. (It’s part of my research.)
  • Soak in the hot tub spa for half an hour and catch up on my reading. 
  • Monday, Wednesday and Friday, post a new entry on my main blog (www.kaystrom.wordpress.com ) and two days each week post on my www.GraceInAfrica.com blog. 
  • Update my to-do list for the day and mark the items that must get accomplished that day. 
  • Write a chapter of the current book

That’s my routine.  It’s what I do every day.

Some people find it even more difficult to satisfy their inner bosses. I have a writer friend who gets up in the morning and dresses for the office.  She bids everyone good-bye and goes out the front door, walks around the house and comes in the back door.  She kicks off her shoes and settles into her office for a day of work.  Short of a bona fide emergency, no one is allowed to intrude because she is officially at work.  That’s her routine.

Another writing friend had business cards made with her office hours printed at the bottom.  Call her between 10:00 and 3:00 and you will get her answering machine.  That’s her routine.

How about you?  Have you developed a routine?  It’s the only way to…

Uh, oh.  I’ve got to go.  My boss says it’s time to get back to work!

“You’re not the boss of me!”

~Every Kid Alive~

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Not The Boss of Me

  1. Jean Stewart

    I love it–what a dream to be able to do that. I do delcare writing times and stick to them. You’re right–you must have the stick-to-it-ism to keep writing no matter what. I haven’t mastered the no-matter-what part yet, but am working on it…thanks for the encouragement and goal. Love to you, friend.

  2. Yep, the no-matter-what is a stickler. I do allow myself a bit of leeway… but not too much. You’re a good writer, Jean. Send me an email and update me on your current projects.

  3. I’m learning, Kay. Thank you for the post. Until my employer was forced to eliminate my full time job, I went to work every day and developed my craft for writing after dinner. For the past two years I’ve become time-rich, volunteering at church, starting my own writer’s group, joining a Bible study, taking my grandkids to school and picking them up–all wonderful things, right? But I make time every day to work an hour or two, sometimes lots more than that, on my writing. I agree with you, the inner boss has tough standards. That’s because she answers to the King.

  4. Tough way to get time to write, but it just might be a blessing in disguise. Thanks for the comment, Sue.

Leave a Reply

