Glowing Author: Janelle Mowery

Glowing Author #28

Janelle Mowery has a book coming out with Harvest House in just a few days—on February 1. I’m so glad she stopped by to talk to us about When All My Dreams Come True. You’ll be glad, too. 

Heeeeere’s Janelle! 

Congratulations on your new book, Janelle. Tell us about it. 

When All My Dreams Come True is about a heroine chasing a dream and a hero trying to fulfill his father’s dream.  They both see those dreams extinguished in the midst of trials that test their trust and faith.

Interesting. What compelled you to write this particular story? 

I’d been reading inspirational fiction for several years and became convinced I could write a story. I plotted it for a year, all in my head, until I decided it was ready to put it to paper. Since the Bible is filled with God’s people going through difficulties and how they handled them, and we all still face troubles and hardships today, I wanted a story based on trusting God through trials.

Many writers have a “day job.”  Is that true of you?

I don’t have another day job. I’ve been a stay at home mom and I thank my husband for making that possible.

What a wonderful gift!  What part of writing comes most easily to you? 

Plotting a story is what I enjoy so much. Taking the characters from where the story begins, shaping them as they go through hardships by adding a mystery element as well as dangerous and humorous events with a lot of action, and making them end up better for going through them…that is fun.

What part of writing do you find most difficult?  

Description! I don’t like to see a lot of description in the books I read, so I naturally don’t enjoy writing it either. To take the time to describe something or someone without it sounding forced is something I have to concentrate on while I write a story.

Finding that balance is so important.  What books are on your bedside table?

There are no books there right now. I’ve been too busy meeting deadlines to be able to enjoy reading. But I’ll have time in a few weeks and I have a stack I want to get started on.

I hear you!  Being under deadline leaves so little time for “fun” reading. Tell us one thing that would surprise us about you. 

Oh boy. Well, I jumped out of a perfectly good airplane once. On purpose.  LOL. I’d always thought skydiving looked like it might be fun, so when a skydiving place opened only a few miles from where I live, I quit procrastinating and gave it a try. It was a lot of fun. Though I wouldn’t be afraid to do it again, I don’t feel the need to jump again. I just wanted the experience.

What great faith you have!  Any words of advice for new writers coming along behind you? 

This is NOT an easy road you’ve chosen, but don’t give up. It takes hard work and plenty of patience, but I’ve found that when I let God do the driving instead of me trying to take over, the road was so much easier to navigate. Follow God’s timing. Enjoy the journey. And take time to look back at the steps the Lord has led you through to get to where you are. I can see God’s hand all over my journey from the time I picked up my first Lori Wick book, to my first writer’s conference, as well as those He’s placed in my path to help me along the way. I can only praise Him and give Him the glory.

Some newbies out there might have the misconception that, with a book tumbling off the press, you are sitting back celebrating.  But we writers know better.  So I have to ask:  What are you working on now? 

I’m finishing up an anthology, Christmas at Barncastle Inn, that I’m writing with three very talented authors. The book will release September 1 this year.

Ah, I knew it!  Thank you so much for taking time away from your busy schedule to be with us today.

 

Contact Janelle on Facebook or at her website: www.janellemowery.com

“If you’re serious about becoming published, try to get to a writer’s conference. The things you’ll learn and the contacts you’ll make are beyond priceless. And get involved with a critique group. As the Bible says, iron sharpens iron, and your writing will be sharpened with the help of other authors.”

Janelle Mowery

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Glowing Author: Janelle Mowery

  1. Inspiring piece, Janelle. Having watched your journey firsthand, I’m celebrating every milestone with you. I know this was an important book in so many ways, and I pray God’s blessing for abundant success.

  2. Hey Janelle! I’m pretty brave about a lot of things, but I don’t know if I’d have the nerve to jump out of a plane. I’m not too worried about the falling part. It’s that landing that scares me. I’d make a big splat!!

    I’m so glad to see all your successes. I remember sitting in the back of that agent session at ACFW with you and Lisa when Chip, Steve Laube, and another agent were reading our one sheets. Pick mine–no, don’t pick mine. That was fun but scary. You’ve come a long way, girl!

  3. Janelle Mowery

    Thanks you two. The road has been long, but I’ve met and made a lot of great friends along the way. I thank God for you both.

Leave a Reply

