Win an Exciting New Version of the Bible!

I’m rerunning this from a recent post–something I will be doing periodically throughout the month of November–to give you extra opportunities to enter and win!  

I am so pleased to be an author for one of the most respected publishers in CBA!  In addition to its awesome fiction line (that’s my home), Abingdon Press (www.abingdonpress.com) has just released The Common English Bible New Testament. The cool thing about this version is that it’s not a revision or an update of any existing translation.  It’s a bold new translation designed specifically for Christians who desire to dig deeper into the New Testament.  The Common English Bible New Testament is written at a level with which more than half of all English readers will feel comfortable.

Would you like to have a copy of this amazing New Testament?  I thought you would! So Debby Mayne and I have come up a great giveaway.  (Debby’s blog address:  www.debbymayne.blogspot.com )

Here are the simple rules:

Post a comment on one (or both!) of our blog posts about this contest telling us your favorite scripture verse and why (in just a few sentences). At the end of NOVEMBER, we’ll each choose one winner at random. Each of our winners will win an autographed copy of our latest novels AND a copy of Abingdon’s Common English Bible New Testament!

Cool deal, huh? (For my book, winners can choose between my just released The Voyage of Promise, book 2 in the Grace in Africa trilogy, or The Call of Zulina, book 1.)

BONUS BONUS BONUS!  If you are a winner and you have posted a review of one of Debby’s or my novels on Christian Book Distributors , you will receive a second copy of this innovative Bible to give away.  ( What a perfect Christmas gift!)

It’s that simple.  So let us hear from you!  What’s your life verse of scripture, and why?

My favorite:

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8: 38-39

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Win an Exciting New Version of the Bible!

  1. My favorite verse is Eph. 2:10: For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them (NASB). I especially like the paraphase that translates “workmanship” as “masterpiece.” Often when I’m down on myself, this verse reminds me that as God’s created child, I am more than just some random person with a few sometimes-useful abilities. I am a His Mona Lisa – His Nutcracker – His Sistine Chapel. I am His Niagara Falls – His Grand Canyon – His Hawaiian sunset! Those thoughts make me smile and I also feel God’s pleasure on me, even when I’m not doing anything special, because He is doing something in me.

  2. Karen

    One of my favorite Bible verses is Psalm 121 “I lift my eyes up to mountains, where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord the maker of heaven and earth…” When I am feeling overwhelmed or scared I remember this verse that He is always watching over me all time, and will “not let my foot slip.”

  3. Jean Stewart

    How to choose a “favorite” from so many? One, though, is always with me:
    John 8:12 …I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.
    This speaks to me no matter my circumstances, high or low.
    Truly enjoy different versions of the Bible for understanding, depth, and beauty, whether the popular NIV or NAS, Living Bible or even The Message, and Phillips is lyrical. Will be eager to see this new translation.

  4. You are entered in the drawing, Jean!

Leave a Reply

