It’s Labor Day. Get to Work!

When I was growing up, my parents insisted that Labor Day was a holiday set aside for families to catch up on big work projects.  So instead of a barbecue or day at the beach, we got up early and spent the day cleaning the garage… or the backyard … or painting the kitchen.  I’m not sure whether my mom and dad really believed that version of Labor Day or they just knew how much work a gullible pack of kids could accomplish in one day, but that interpretation has stuck in my mind.

Yesterday was Labor Day, and I labored.  I scrubbed and vacuumed the house… I planted a winter garden… I laid out my next book.

Mom and Dad, I hope I made you proud!

But I’m pooped!  Today I’m going to grill a hamburger and relax.

Take rest; a field that has rested gives a bountiful crop.

– Ovid

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “It’s Labor Day. Get to Work!

  1. Kay, enjoy that grilled hamburger! Yesterday we had brats and corn on the cob on the grill and put red, green & yellow bell peppers next to them. I found out how to grill them to just the right softness — put them on a piece of foil on the grill and turn them once in a while. Doesn’t take long, and they get little burn marks on them, but they taste really yummy. Make mine a cheeseburger if you throw on an extra! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

