Technology Rocks!

I am totally non-mechanical.  Not one bit technologically wired, either.  You already know that if you’ve followed this blog long enough to have witnessed my many techno-bloopers.

As much as I hate to admit what a dinosaur I am, I even had trouble adjusting to a digital clock.  For a long time I resisted putting away my cute clock with the flower hands that I’d kept by my bed since college days, but my husband forced the issue by buying me a digital alarm clock for Christmas one year.  The adjustment was painful.   

Problem was, I would look at those digital numbers and read them as words.  The first night, I went to bed a 10:55.  My new clock clearly said: lOSS.  Loss?  That’s a sad note on which to go to sleep!  I did sleep, however, but for some reason I awoke with a start at 1:11.  The clock said:  Ill.  Ill?  Who was sick?  I bounded out of bed and ran to check the children.  All fine—except for me, who was quickly becoming a nervous wreck. I went back to sleep, but woke up again at 5:05.  Believe me, it’s pretty terrifying to open your eyes to a clock flashing SOS!  Exhausted after such a night, I slept in until 8:00 the next morning.  But my clock couldn’t resist one last punch.  I looked over at it and read, as clear as the morning sunshine:  BOO.

Even so, I refuse to give up.  Despite the need for endless apologies for email errors, blog post do-overs, and Facebook indiscretions. Even then, I keep trying.

Which is why I am now taking up the challenge of passing along the link for a trailer for my Grace in Africa trilogy.  Book 2, The Voyage of Promise, will be released next month.  (If you haven’t yet read book 1, The Call of Zulina, you still have time!  It’s available at Amazon.com, Cokesbury.com, on my website www.kaystrom.com, or through any major book store.) 

Click on this link to see the trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRYOqBINhgA

If you like it, let me know.  If you don’t… well… maybe you best keep it to yourself!

“Once a new technology rolls over you, if you’re not part of the steamroller, you’re part of the road.”

Steward Brand

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Technology Rocks!

  1. Very funny post, Kay! A real “eye-opener!”
    Hugs,
    B.J.

  2. You made me laugh, Kay. Very fun. I’m off to check out the video (takes a while to download since this dinosaur is still using dial-up. I have to say, though, I LOVE the cover.

    Becky

  3. Thanks, Becky! I hope you like the video. You encouraged me to write fiction, you know.

  4. Hey, I didn’t know that. Really? That’s cool!

    I liked the video very much, especially because the cover art was the prominent feature. Of course the music was fitting in so many ways, and the content was just right to introduce the book, I think.

    They did a good job for you.

    Becky

  5. It’s true! Thanks again for the encouragement.

  6. Irene

    I can’t wait to read the next release! The link was very cool:D

Leave a Reply

