Type a Page of Words and Call Me In The Morning.

I don’t have a Glowing Author Interview for you today, because the glowing author I had scheduled canceled.  She apologetically admitted to suffering from Writer’s Block.

Okay, I need to confess to you what I didn’t say to her: I don’t believe in Writer’s Block

People often ask me, “What do you do when you have Writer’s Block?” 

I say, “What does a dentist do when she gets Dentist’s Block?  She gets busy and works on teeth. 

What does a computer programmer do when he gets Computer Programmer’s block?  He goes right on programming computers. 

What does a mail carrier do when she gets Mail Carrier’s block?  She keeps right carrying the mail.” 

So, what do I do when I get Writer’s Block?  I’m a writer, so I get busy and write.

That’s not to say I don’t get weary of writing.  I do. Sometimes my mind goes blank and I’m at a loss for words and my characters don’t do what I want them to do and I’m tired of sitting at my desk and I want to chuck the whole idea of writing and run away and hide.  That’s natural. 

From her description, it sounds as though that’s exactly what happened to my Glowing Author friend.

When those times come, here are some things I do to refresh myself and get me back on track:

  • Go back and read aloud the last section I wrote.
  • Skip ahead and do some research I’ve been putting off.
  • Rewrite a scene that doesn’t quite work.
  • Put the project aside and write a meditation or an anecdote.
  • Switch over to a different writing project for a while.  (I usually have at least two going  all the time for this very reason.)
  • Go for a thirty-minute walk.
  • Bowl a game on Wii.
  • Spend thirty minutes working in the garden.

Then I get back to work.

 How about you?  Any special tricks you can share with us? 

“You can’t wait for inspiration.  You have to go after it with a club.”

Jack London

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Type a Page of Words and Call Me In The Morning.

  1. Amen!!! I love bowling on the Wii!

Leave a Reply

