Not Just Another Table in Costco

 I did it!

Yep, on Saturday I had my first Costco book signing. I’ll have to say two things about it: 

  1. It was great! I can’t tell you how exciting it was to see stacks of books with my name on them in a such a busy place. 
  2. Man, is Costco crowded on Saturdays!  Speaking of a busy place… although the manager said it was actually a rather slow day for a Saturday in May.  But even with the warm sunshine and everyone getting ready for the marathon the next day, it sure seemed busy to me.

Well, I’m going to say two more things. 

  1. I met the most interesting people! Little kids and crotchety folks (one woman told me she was 92), people in a rush and plenty who were eager to chat, lots of smiles and many good wishes.  (One guy said, “I hope you sell two thousand books!”  Alas, no.)
  2. Book signers are not vendors!  Right across from me was a little lady serving up tiny cups of chicken salad with sesame dressing.   Lots of vendors were busy giving out samples of all kinds of things: cheese and dips and juice and chocolate crunch (my personal favorite!)  That’s actually a problem for a book signer, by the way.  It’s hard to let people know what you’re doing there.  Seems they almost expect you to tear out a page and give them a free sample! 

 Okay, just one more thing!

  1. My favorite “client” was a girl named Rosie who was one day shy of eleven.  Her father had promised her a birthday gift of her choice and she chose my book.  Out of all the cool stuff in Costco, she chose The Call of Zulina!  As I wrote Happy Birthday, Rosie, I asked what had prompted her to make the choice.  Rosie beamed and said, “I want to put this in my collection of autographed books.”  I asked her how many autographed books she had.  “Well,” Rosie said, “counting this, I have one.” 

Yay, Rosie!  You are on your way!

***I’ll be in Portland, Oregon, next Saturday, May 8.  If you’re in the area, I’d love to see you at Costco in the Clackamas Mall 11-2 or in the Tigard Mall 3-5!  Or in Tacoma, Washington on May 29 from 11-2***

“Reach high, for stars lie hidden in your soul.  Dream deep, for every dream precedes the goal.”

Pamela Vaull Starr

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Not Just Another Table in Costco

  1. Hurray for you and Rosie! Sounds like a great day, my friend. I too hope you sell 2,000 books–and more besides!!!

  2. Jeanette Morris

    I love this story! Rosie is a girl after my own heart. I wish I would have started my autographed book collection at age 11 instead of age 50-something. She most assuredly chose the right author to headline her trophy shelf of books. And who knows, maybe she will be signing her own some day. We just never know when a word of encouragment (or a nice note on the title page of a book) helps someone turn the corner toward God’s perfect plans.

  3. What a great cheerleader you are! Thank you, Kathi.

  4. How right you are, Jeanette. It’s humbling, isn’t it? Rosie and her future are now in my prayers.

  5. I loved this post. I’ve heard plenty of horror stories about book signings. It was really nice to hear a good one, too.

    • I don’t do a lot of book signings, Billy, merely because I don’t think they are usually that productive. But there certainly are exceptions.

Leave a Reply

