Online Brain Power

Getting you ready for the weekend~

You know how you search all over for your glasses, and you first look on top of your head because that’s where you found them the last time, then you feel your way through the house until you get to the kitchen, but then you discover that the milk is still sitting on the cabinet because you forgot to put it back in the refrigerator, and after you do you can’t remember why you went to the kitchen in the first place until you spy your glasses lying on the table beside your car keys that you’ve been searching for all morning?  You know that horrible fear that it’s all over for you because you’ve finally lost your marbles?  

Well, fear no more.  I’ve got breaking news for you!

New research, presented at the Society for Neurosicence annual meeting, suggests that surfing the net can actually help your brain to function better!  How great is that?  This info is based on a new study that looked at brain activity in 24 adults–the youngest 55 and the oldest 78–as they surfed the internet.  Half were daily internet users, and the other half total novices.  Each participant conducted internet searches for one hour a day for one week.  At the beginning of the study, each underwent a brain scan, then at the end of the week, they had another one. 

Ready for the results? Okay, here’s what the researchers found:  At the start of the study, the brains of those who had never been involved in net surfing showed way less activity in areas of memory and decision making.  (Yep, finding glasses and keys, and deciding to put the milk away promptly.)  But by the end of the week, after the one-hour-each-day committment, the new users’ brain patterns were just like those of experienced internet surfers.

Turns out, searching the internet just might be one of the best brain exercises a mature adult can do.  No one ever made such a claim about poring over the card catalog in the library!  (If you have no idea what a card catalog is, you’ve probably never misplaced your glasses on the top of your head anyway.  But just you wait.  Trust me, just you wait!)

All this is especially great news for writers.  Thorough research has never been easier.  And now we find out, it makes our brains more alert, too.  What a deal!

 

 

This is my 91-year-old dad’s Facebook photo.

Yep, Facebook!

Take that, you young whippersnappers!

 

 

“There is a fountain of youth:  It is your mind, your talents, the creativity you bring to your life and the lives of people you love.”

Sophia Loren

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Online Brain Power

  1. I LOVE it!! I can so relate LOL! (I know you think I’m too young.. but I’ve spent many an hour pouring over a card catalog ) 🙂

    And not only is my wonderful Aunt now BLOGGING… my 91 year old Grandfather is on FB!

    Great blog Kay – thanks for giving me reason to keep up my favorite pass time! Love ya!

  2. Love it! Woo-hoo! I’m not just wasting time … I’m exercising my brain!

    😀

    Becky

  3. My dad’s on facebook as well, although I don’t think he’s updated his status for weeks! This is good news, especially since I was just thinking I might need to dial it all back a notch! I’m giving my brain a work-out, and considering that might be the only work-out I get each day, I’d better keep to it!

    Hi; over here from Joanne’s. It was nice to read a bit more about your background and join you on the road today. Thank you for sharing your story and for bringing a light to those who are oppressed.

    peace~elaine

Leave a Reply

