Speaking of Something Else…

Whenever my mother thought we had stayed on a subject too long, she would interrupt with, “Speaking of something else…”  then she would go off in a different direction.  That phrase has become a part of my family’s lexicon.  Today, I am applying it to myself.

Speaking of something else…

I am finally catching up with my email after ignoring it way too long.  I came across this message: “If you carry a coin that says In God We Trust, you could go to jail!”

Say what? 

Then I found the same message again, sent by someone else.  And then a third time.  Only difference was the number of exclamation points added to the end!!!

Used to be when I got such messages, I would automatical hit  Delete.  Now, more and more, I am choosing to hit Reply.

I ask:  Who is the source of this information?  Anyone can say anything.  Just because you heard it–or saw it on the internet–doesn’t mean it’s true.

I ask:  What was the context?  Anything taken out of context can be misleading.  Yes, even scripture verses.  I sure saw the proof of that when I was doing my research on the slave trade. 

I ask:  Is this biased in order to make a point?  It’s always a temptation to mold facts and figures to support what we already believe.  The media is littered with examples.

The truth is, in this day and age we must be especially discerning in what we accept as true.

The truth is, God is still in control.

The truth is, my deciding to speak of something else today may do no good at all.  On the other hand, it may.

 

May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Psalm 19:14

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

