Hearts Like Mine

I could give you lots of reasons to attend a great writers conference like Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference.  Yep, even if you never write a word except in your journal or an email home to your mom.  But here is one really great reason to go:  You will meet amazing people

Mark Young, for instance.  He’s a great guy, a mystery writer.  (He writes mystery, he doesn’t sneak around making you guess who did the writing.)  And his research is impeccable.  That’s because Mark is a real-life police detective. 

“You have got to meet my friend Nick,” Mark told me.  Nick traveled to the hard places of the world… like me.  He has a passion for victims of modern-day slavery… like me. 

“Sure,” I said.  “I’d love to meet Nick.”

But of course I didn’t.  You know how such things go.  Even the business cards seem to drift astray.

Well, guess what–I just met Nick.  (Virtually, that is.  And Nick still hasn’t met me–though I don’t think he’s pining over that.)   I met Nick on Mark’s blog.

Chief Nicholas Sensley of the Truckee, California, police department, is a globe-trotting consultant on human trafficking.  He the guy who helps nail traffickers and rescue their victims.  Talk about a 21st century abolitionist!

All I do is listen to the victims and record their stories.  Hey, maybe Nick will let me tag along with him sometime!  What do you think?  Wouldn’t we make a great team?  A doer and a writer?

On January 22, Mark interviewed Nick on his blog http://hookembookem.blogspot.com .  He plans to post the second half of that interview on Monday, February 8. 

Thanks, Mark!

Thanks, Nick!

Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 37:4

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Hearts Like Mine

  1. Thank you, Kay. And yes–you and Nick would make a great pair. Hey, maybe that has the making of a novel. May God continue to bless your writing.

  2. Well, sharpen the pencils and pack the notepads Kay! Maybe someday we’ll explore this with a bird’s eye view as a team. Thanks for the shout out!

Leave a Reply

