Spirit Voice

“I called your cell phone, but your voice box is full!”  a voice scolded over my home phone.

Okay, I can take a hint.  I hit *86 on my cell phone and started deleting:

“Hi, Honey, I’m at the store, and I…” 

Delete!

“Hello, this is the dentist office.  Just a reminder that…” 

Delete!

“Hi, Mom!  Are you… 

Delete!

“Kay, are you there?  I…”   

Delete!

Delete!  Delete!  Delete!  Delete!  Delete!  Delete!  Delete!  Delete!  Delete!

And then the last message:

“Kay?  Kay…  I’m waiting for you.  No hurry, but I’m eager to see you.  Everything is ready.  I love you.”

It was from my mom at Christmas, a year ago.  Dan and I had been on our way to visit her and Dad at their house, but we were delayed by rain and snow.  

When I saw my mother, I was shocked at how much she had aged in the two months since I’d seen her.  Alarmed at how weakened she was.  Mom died three months later.

Still, every now and then when I push *86 on my cell phone, I hear my mother’s voice say: 

“Kay?   Kay…  I’m waiting for you.  No hurry, but I’m eager to see you.  Everything is ready.  I love you!”

Ahhh, how sweet.  How comforting.  How true.

 

The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!”  And let him who hears say, “Come!”  Whoever is thirsty, let him come; and whoever wishes, let him take the free gift of the water of life.

Revelation 22:17

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Spirit Voice

  1. Kay,

    I took a little time to peruse your blog.

    LOVED it. Laughed through it. Coveted it.

    This post especially, placed an apple-sized lump in my throat. My mom died ten years ago. How I’d loved to have these words on my answering machine.

    What a gift.

Leave a Reply

