Funny… Ouch!

 

Funny, isn’t it, the things that can convict? 

I just watched Julie and Julia, the movie about French chef Julia Child and the girl who just about killed herself–and her marriage–with a self-imposed goal of cooking every recipe in Julia’s cookbook in one year’s time. (Great movie, by the way.)  I saw it the evening after I had two big book radio interviews.  Unfortunately, one interview had missed my calendar notations, so when the radio station called and said, “We’re on the air, live in one minute,” I wasn’t even sure which book we were to talk about.  Too scary! Fortunately, the interviewer said the title of the book upfront, so while I said, “Good morning!  It’s so nice to be with you today!” I could frantically grab the right book and pull out my appropriate notes.

Before and between and after those two interviews, I completed a chapter of  my current book and wrote most of another chapter.  The only reason that was possible is because my sweet husband Dan offered to take over the cooking and dishes and laundry and such until I get this book finished.

The reason for my present crush?  Well, adjusted publication schedules and other unexpected changes and my own eagerness to say, “Yes, of course I can!”  Anyway, I ended up with four books all released in the second half of 2009.  Nice problem, you say?  Well, yes, but  now I’m under another deadline:  a mountain of publicity requirements for those books. 

Here’s where Julie and Julia comes in:  I love to write.  And I really do believe in the messages of my books.  Even so, I don’t want to become consumed by my writing.  I don’t want it to obliterate the rest of my life–my family, my devotional time, exercise, fun times with my husband.  Writing is both my job and my passion.  But it’s not my whole life.

How much is too much?  Where to draw the line?

What do you think?

 

If you want to get my blog right to your email, please subscribe.

 

 Kay with The Call of Zulina at Borders

 

 

It’s never too late–in fiction or in life–to revise.”

Nancy Thayer

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Funny… Ouch!

  1. My off-the-cuff response is that “too much” is, as you say, when the rest of one’s life is smoldering on the back burner for lack of attention. We don’t want to lose Kay just to get her books…(right Dan?)

Leave a Reply

